The big floating purple pillow

I’m lying on my pillow in the sky. This is my safe place. I go here when I’m upset. Or scared. It’s big and soft and high above the world. I can see the buildings beneath me. The city asleep, the stars above. The clock tower lit up on the one side. I can smell fresh bread below, but the air is quiet. I won’t be bothered here. I’m far away from everything, high above, yet it’s impossible to fall off.
And in my safe place, you are here as well. We’re lying next to each other and we’re cuddling like we usually do. It’s safe and warm. This is where you’ll never leave me.
It’s all I ever want to do. Be on that pillow. You with me.

I have memories of you leaving. Of you gone. I remember a sharp pain. I remember burning. But it’s not real. You are here. In my safe place, on a floating pillow. You are here.
You left. You let me down. I believed in you again and when I trusted you to stay, to come back, you left. But you’re not. You didn’t.
We’re cuddling. I can feel your body, attached to mine. We are here. You a part of me.

The bell rings, I do not know which hour. It’s the clock tower. There are birds in the sky, I do not know which. But they fly, black streaks against the sky. It’s the smell of bread. But it’s night. I do not know why. But the stars shine bright.
This is real. I can feel you. I can feel my feelings for you. We will never leave this pillow. A floating pillow. You wouldn’t leave.

I’m falling asleep. You next to me. Body to body, you’re holding me. Hand in hand. It’s been a long night.
I wake up. There is an empty feeling. Where are you? You couldn’t have left. We were high up in the sky.
I realize my pillow isn’t purple. Where are the black streaks? Why is it light? It’s not right.
I can’t breathe. A hollow feeling’s rushing over me. I’m afraid of losing you.

I have to find you. Where did I see you last?
I’m on my purple floating pillow. Everything is quiet here. There you are. Let’s go back to bed.

Leave a comment