Blogging for Dummies

So I’ve been thinking a lot about how to start a blog. Like what site to use, what name to give it, what language to write in, what to post (and what not), how to edit the lay-out of the page, how to start my first blog (well, here it is).
But I guess the best way is to just start and figure it out along the way. If it works, keep doing it and if it doesn’t work, alter it. Christ wasn’t born in one day! Well actually he was… well anyway! (That wasn’t an actual saying, was it?)

See, I’ve spent a long time – like so many others – thinking I should do things perfectly or not at all. So I keep overthinking it, delaying it, and end up not doing anything at all (recognizable, isn’t it?).
But lately I’ve been wondering about the concept of “perfect” and “right”.
Everyone has their own values. People differ in what they find normal or acceptable or inappropriate. And in the end you will always dissapoint one person and make another one happy.
There is no right and so there is no wrong. There is only truth.

The truth is: I’m sitting here, typing, doing the best I can to put my thoughts on paper in a way that might inspire or otherwise amuse others (making as little misspellings as I possibly can, and I know I’ll still make them), and – if not any of the above – just putting my thoughts out there for the hell of it.

The only truth you will ever have is how you feel and how you experience things. What other people think about that, really has nothing to do with you.
You can only try to find the people who will accept your choices and support you, no matter what. And if you need to, share your thoughts with someone who will listen or read and not judge you for what you have to say.

And it scares the hell out of me.

But oh, you have to start somewhere. So why not here?
What will I write about? I don’t know! Life, poetry, culture… or more likely some crazy cat stories. Just wait and see!

We will get there when we need to.

Leave a comment